First Day Covers














200 Years Police Force

(24 July 2007)


200 Years Police Force

Click on covers above to enlarge.

The establishment of the police force in the country began with the enactment of the 'Charter of Justice' which separated the power of the judicial from that of the legal which was introduced by King George III on 25 March in 1807 in Penang. Political developments in the Malay States as a result of the British intervention brought about many changes to the policing system until the states of the Federation of Malaya, Sabah, Sarawak and Singapore became united to form the Federation of Malaysia on 16 September 1963. With the formation, the administration became one and was named the Royal Malaysia Police Force and headed by the Inspector-General of Police (Singapore left Malaysia in 1965).

With the termination of the Japanese Occupation (1942-1945), the Emergency (1848-1960), The Second Communist Insurgency (1968-1989) and the laying down arms of the Malayan Communist Party in 1989 and the North Kalimantan Communist Party in 1990, Malaysia is now free from menaces that had threatened peace and security in the country. This allows the police to give its attention to efforts at eliminating crimes such as commercial crime, smuggling and drug abuse, handling social issues and youth problems, preventing illegal immigration and piracy activities.

The RMPF has also tackled issues related to terrorist threats and religious extremists, with the aim of preserving the country's peace and well-being of the people. The RMPF has the vision and aspiration of tackling various issues in line with the rapid national development. Besides increasing the use of the latest technology, the RMPF has also introduced a five year strategic plan to strengthen the institution and to make it relevant; recognized and respected again in order to give a better service to the country. Hence, the police expects the public to also give its cooperation in tackling any threats and crime for the common well-being.

The 30 sen stamp features the historic Hutton Lane Police Station, among the earliest police stations built in Penang in 1880 after the Charter of Justice was introduced, at the background. Also featured is the Penang Fire Brigade in 1883. It was the duty of the Police Force to put out fires then. Also in the stamp is the picture of the uniform worn by a Peon who was assistant to the 'Captain' appointed by Captain Francis Light from each of the ethnic groups ie Malays, Chinese and Indians. The Peons were also regarded as the first constables among the lower ranks of police officers that exists to this day.

The 50 sen stamp features the 'flying squad' at the background. This para-military group was formed to combat the communist terrorists during the emergency in 1948. The name 'Flying Squad' was later changed to 'Jungle Squad' in line with its role in fighting against communist terrorists in the jungle. In 1951 the 'Jungle Squad' was renamed 'Jungle Company' and then the Police Field Force. In 1997, the Police Field Force was given another name that is the General Operation Force in line with the development and peace achieved in the country. Also on the stamp is the picture of the uniform of the Royal Federation of Malaya Police Force in 1958. On 24 July 1958, the Police Force was conferred the 'Royal' title in line with the outstanding service and absolute loyalty shown by its members at every level in performing their duties in preserving peace and order until the country achieved its independence on 31 August 1957.

The second 50 sen stamp portrays the modernization of the police force in line with the spirit and new commitment of the Royal Malaysia Police Force to serve the people and the nation. The picture of the Putrajaya District Police Headquarters is the newest modern district police headquarters which was built with the latest technology in its administration and services..

The currently worn uniform in dark blue color which is perceived to be more friendly and ready to serve the country is also featured in the stamp. Also featured in the stamp are the vehicles currently used to ensure the peace and harmony of the country is well protected and the nation can enjoy life in peace and harmony.

Technical Details

Date of Issue 24 July 2007
Denomination 30 sen, 50 sen x 2
Stamp Size 40mm x 30mm
Perforation 14
Sheet Content 20 stamps
Paper SPM Watermarked, Phosphor Coated
Printing Process Lithography

Source :

Copyright © 2004-2022 All Rights Reserved.

Terms of use | Privacy Policy