First Day Covers














Malaysian 50 Years Independence

(31 August 2007)


Malaysian 50 Years Independence Malaysian 50 Years Independence

Click on covers above to enlarge.

A delegation led by Tunku Abdul Rahman Putra Al-Haj headed off to London in January 1956 with a mission entrusted by the people of Malaya to negotiate for the country's independence. The negotiation was successful and the Merdeka cry was heard throughout Malaya on 31st August 1957. It was the new beginning for a nation that had been under the domination of foreign powers for more than 446 years.

Today, after 50 years of independence, we have achieved advancements in various fields. We are no longer a colony and we have moved forward based on our own aspirations and under our constitutional democracy system. It is hoped that the peace and harmony that are currently enjoyed by 26 million Malaysians from various background, ethnicity and creed would continue to be the pride of future generations.

The first 50 sen stamp brings back a moment in the nation's history on how it all began. It depicts Tunku Abdul Rahman Putra Al-Haj signing the Declaration of Independence that became the biggest milestone in the nation's history. The historical event validated the sovereignty of Malaya and marked the starting point for the country as a free and independent nation. The replica of the historic document is shown in the background.

The second 50 sen stamp celebrates the achievement of our nation after 50 years of independence. It depicts the logo of the Golden Jubilee celebration of Malaysia's Independence to commemorate the 50 years of our nation's sovereignty. The logo was designed based on the National Flag, known as "Jalur Gemilang", symbolizing the pride of the people of Malaysia.

This first 30 sen stamp depicts the historical Sultan Abdul Samad building that witnessed the bringing down of the British Government flag, "The Union Jack" at midnight of 30th August 1957 at the Selangor Club Field (now known as Merdeka Square) to signify the end of British Colonial era. In the center, it features the legendary leader, Tunku Abdul Rahman Putra Al-Haj during significant moment when he declared the independence of Malaya at Stadium Merdeka in the morning of 31st August 1957. His historic "Merdeka" cries sparked off a celebration throughout the nation. Also featured are Parliament Building as the symbol of the nation's sovereignty, the strength of the Government of Malaysia and its constitutions as well as the National Monument as the symbol of the struggle and sacrifice by the people to defend the nation.

The second 30 sen stamp reflects the nation's achievement after 50 years of independence. It depicts the Petronas Twin Towers, Kuala Lumpur Tower, the Government's administrative building at Putrajaya, the national car and Penang bridge, where all of these symbolizes our achievement as a modern and developing country under our strong, capable, and visionary leaders.

The miniature sheet is a tribute to the strong, capable and visionary leaders of the past and present who contribute endlessly to shape the nation to be what it is today. The upper part of the sheet depicts the pride of the people of Malaysia, the national flag, known as "Jalur Gemilang".

The lower part features the Prime Ministers who had strived to ensure the continuity of the country's sovereignty as a free and independent nation.

Technical Details

Date of Issue 31 August 2007
Denomination 30 sen x 2, 50 sen x 2
Stamp Size 40mm x 30mm
Miniature Sheet Denomination RM5.00
Miniature Sheet Size 100mm x 70mm
Stamp Size in Miniature Sheet 70mm x 35mm
Perforation 14
Paper SPM Watermarked, Phosphor Coated
Printing Process Lithography

Source :

Copyright © 2004-2022 All Rights Reserved.

Terms of use | Privacy Policy